When in New York, do as the New Yorkers do

    Being a New Yorker means eating at trendy restaurants, drinking fancy $13 drinks, riding the subway AND mastering subway transfers, sweating in the subway, following the fashion culture but wearing a lot of black, and creating art or acting somewhat knowledgeable about art. I think I’m dappling in some of that as a temporary NYC resident thanks to my sister, a real NYC resident. Now that I’m officially an occupational therapist (registered and licensed!), it makes sense to start interning at a textile design studio in NYC, right?

    My babysitter from when I was little owns a textile business in Brooklyn and offered to teach me her ways for the month of September. Unsure what that is? We paint, scan the photo, print it, and hot press it on fabric. Then, designers and brands can buy it to make into clothing. It’s been so fun doing something different, and essentially getting art lessons for the first time in my life. I’m learning so much and hoping to one day be able to buy clothing with my prints on it. What kind of trends do you want to see on clothing this year?

  Just a few of the many fabric samples in the studio The best watercolors ever. So saturated. Somehow you only need half a drop to paint a picture. Insanity.   The view of Manhattan from the studio at no extra cost. Whattttt.

One thought on “When in New York, do as the New Yorkers do

Leave a Reply

